• Active Registered Voters:
  • Democrats:
  • Republicans:
  • Others:
  • Total:

Register to Vote


You must register before you can vote in an election. Read below for information on how you can register to vote in Florida.

To register to vote you must meet these requirements:
  • American citizen
  • Florida resident
  • At least 18 years old
  • You can pre-register when you are 16 years old. See below for more information.

You can lose your right to vote under these conditions:
  • If you are "adjudicated mentally incapacitated with respect to voting" by a court, you lose your right to vote. Your right to vote must then be restored by the court.
  • If you are convicted of a felony, you lose your right to vote. However, with a few exceptions, your right to vote is restored when you complete all terms of your sentence.

Can I Register to Vote Before I am 18 Years old?

If you are 16 or 17 years old and meet the requirements listed above, you can pre-register to vote. Follow the instructions below to complete and submit your voter registration application. When you turn 18, your pre-registration will automatically convert to an active registration and we will mail you your voter information card.

You can use any of these options to register to vote.

Register Online

You can register to vote online by visiting RegistertoVoteFlorida.gov, Florida's online voter registration system.

You will need your Florida driver's license or ID card, and the last four digits of your Social Security number to register completely online.

If you do not have a Florida Driver's license or ID card, you can use the system to generate a paper voter registration application. You can then print and mail the paper application.

Register by Mail

You can register through the mail by completing a Florida Voter Registration Application (PDF) and mailing it to our office:

Leon County Supervisor of Elections Office
P.O. Box 7357
Tallahassee, FL 32314

If you do not have access to a printer, you can call us at (85)606-8683 and we will mail you an application.

Register When Getting a Florida Driver's License or ID Card

You can register when you apply for a driver’s license or ID card at the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles or the Leon County Tax Collector’s Office.

For further information about driver's licenses and ID cards, please visit the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website.

Register in Person

You can register in person at our office or at any of the other government offices listed below:

  • Offices that service persons with disabilities:

You can register to vote at any time. However, to vote in an election you must be registered 29 days before that election.

  • If you are registering online, you must submit the application by the deadline.
  • If you are registering by mail, your application must be postmarked by the deadline
  • If you are registering in person, your application must be received by our office, or an authorized government office, by the deadline.

2022 Voter Registration Deadlines

Election

Deadline

Election Day

Primary Election

General Election

July 25, 2022

October 11, 2022

August 23, 2022

November 8, 2022

 


We will enter your information into the Florida Voter Registration System. We check your information to make sure that you are a real person who meets the registration requirements. If there is a problem with your application, we will try to contact you.

After we process your application, we will mail you a voter information card. The card lists your party affiliation, where you vote on Election Day, and other information. Review the card to make sure your information is correct. The card cannot be used as a form of ID at the polls.

Once you are registered, you can use the Voter Information Lookup to find your current voter registration status and other information.

You are not required to register with a political party. However, Florida is a “closed primary” election state. The races and candidates that appear on your primary election ballot depend on your party affiliation.

You may only vote in a partisan race in a primary election if you are a registered member of that political party. However, there are non-partisan races on the primary ballot. You can vote in these races regardless of your party affiliation.

In addition, if all candidates for an office have the same party affiliation, and the winner of the primary will be elected to office, then you can vote in that race regardless of party affiliation. This is known as an “universal primary.”

In a general election, you can vote for any candidates on your ballot, regardless of party affiliation.

You can view a list of political parties on the Division of Elections Political Party webpage.

Florida has a very broad public records law. Almost all voter information is a public record including your name, address, date of birth, party affiliation, phone number, and email address.

Some information is protected. Your Social Security number, driver’s license number or state ID card number, and the source of your voter registration application cannot be released. Your signature can be viewed, but not copied.

Whether you voted in an election is also a public record. However, your vote is secret. No one, including election workers, knows who you voted for.

Exemption from Public Release of Personal Information

If you or a family member have a high-risk profession or have been the victim of certain crimes, you can request that your information be protected. For more information, please see the Public Records Exemption form.


Leon County Seal

Mark S. Earley
Leon County Supervisor of Elections

OFFICE ADDRESS: 2990-1 Apalachee Parkway, Tallahassee FL 32301
MAILING ADDRESS: Leon County Supervisor of Elections Office P.O Box 7357, Tallahassee FL 32314-7357
P: (850) 606-8683 | F: (850) 606-8601 | E: Vote@leonvotes.gov | Hours: M - F: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

PLEASE NOTE: Under Florida law, email addresses are public records. If you do not want your email address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing. Florida Statute 668.6076.