Florida law requires that many public officials and employees file financial disclosure reports. These reports help the public to know about potential conflicts of interest, deter corruption, and increase transparency and trust in government.
Our office keeps copies of the reports on file. We also remind officials and employees about their responsibility to file reports.
Who Must File a Financial Disclosure Report?
The following people must file financial disclosure reports:
- All elected state and local public officers
- Candidates for office
- Many appointed board members
- Certain state and local government employees are also subject to the disclosure filing requirement because of the position they hold or because they have purchasing authority that exceeds $35,000.
The list of people required to file a financial disclosure report is provided by the Florida Commission on Ethics. The Commission obtains the names and addresses from coordinators at each state and local government agency, including our office.
How Do I Look up a Financial Disclosure?
Financial Disclosure Reports in Leon County
Visit our Financial Disclosure report archive to view financial disclosure reports from 2018 to the present day.
Other Financial Disclosure Reports
You can search for financial disclosure reports filed with other offices by vising the Florida Commission on Ethics.
How Do I File My Financial Disclosure Report?
You can view a list of financial disclosure forms on the Florida Commission on Ethics’ Forms page. On that page you can view or print any forms you may need, and read descriptions of who has to file which forms, what deadlines may apply, and what information must be reported.
Assistance Completing Disclosure Report
If you need assistance completing your financial disclosure, contact the Commission of Ethics’ Financial Disclosure Coordinator at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Assistance Filing Disclosure Report
Only certain individuals in our community file financial disclosure reports with our office. If you are not sure where you should file a disclosure form, please contact the Florida Commission on Ethics.
If you are required to file with our office, please contact the Candidate Coordinator in our office for assistance on how to file your report with our office.
Financial disclosure reports covering the last year are due by July 1 of the current year. If the disclosure is not filed or postmarked by September 1, an automatic fine of $25 per day begins to accrue, and will continue to build until the disclosure is filed, or the fine reaches $1,500. Fines may be appealed to the Commission, which can waive or reduce the fine, if unusual circumstances prevented the filer from filing on time.