To register to vote in Florida, you must meet these requirements:
Be an American citizen
Be a Florida resident
Be at least 18 years old to register.
Not be adjudicated mentally incapacitated with respect to voting
Not have been convicted of a felony without your voting rights having been restored.
- You can preregister at 16 years of age. See Can I Pre-Register to Vote for more information.
- See below for further information.
If you meet all these requirements you can use any of the options below to register to vote.
Yes, If you are 16 or 17 years old, and meet the other requirements listed above, you can pre-register to vote. Follow any of the voter registration options below to submit your voter registration application. You will initially be pre-registered to vote. On your 18th birthday, your pre-registration will automatically convert to a normal registration and you will be mailed a voter information card.
Yes, You can register to vote online by following this link: Online Voter Registration (OVR)
NOTE: You will need a FL Driver’s License or ID Card, and the last four digits of your Social Security to use Online Voter Registration.
Complete a Florida Voter Registration Application, print, sign your name, and mail the application to our office at P.O. Box 7357 Tallahassee, FL. 32314. If you do not have access to a printer, call us at (850)606-8683 and we will gladly mail an application to you.
You can register in person at the Leon County Supervisor of Elections office or at any of our voter registration branch sites and other governmental agencies located throughout Leon County listed below.
Yes, When you visit an office that issues driver’s licenses or Florida ID cards, such as the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles or a County Tax Collector’s office, you will be given the opportunity to register to vote or update your existing voter registration record at the same time that you apply for or renew a driver’s license or ID card.
For further information about driver’s licenses and ID cards, please visit the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website.
You can register to vote at any time. However to vote in an election you must be registered 29 days prior to the day of that election. This is known as the Book Closing Deadline. If you wish to change your party affiliation before a Primary Election, you must make the change before the 29-day Book Closing Deadline for the change to be in effect for that election.
To meet the deadline, your application or party change must be either completed online, postmarked if sent by mail, or received in our office or at an authorized branch site if done in person, by the 29-day deadline.
2020 Book Closing Deadlines
July 20, 2020
October 5, 2020
August 18, 2020
November 3, 2020
When you register to vote or update your voter registration record, we will mail you a new voter information card. Review the card to make sure all information is correct. The card includes your party affiliation, assigned precinct and polling place, and your assigned district offices (local, state, and federal).
To replace a lost card, please complete the online Voter Replacement Card Order Form
Note: The card cannot be used as a form of identification at the polls.
Florida is a closed primary election state. Only voters who are registered with a political party may choose among their party’s candidates in a primary election. However, many local offices are nonpartisan and candidates for those offices often appear on Primary Election ballots too. So even though a primary election is closed, there is usually something for everyone to vote on, such as:
- When candidates for nonpartisan offices appear on a primary ballot, or if local referendum questions are placed on a primary ballot, then voters from any party, including those without party affiliation, are eligible to vote on them.
- If all candidates for an office have the same party affiliation and the winner of the primary election will be elected to office, then all voters from any party, including those without party affiliation, are eligible to vote on those races in the primary election.
Voters can change their party affiliation at any time, but for the change to be in effect for a primary election, the change must be made by the Book Closing Deadline 29 days before the election.
At a general election, all registered voters may vote for any candidate or question on the ballot, regardless of party affiliation.
You can view a list of political parties on the Division of Elections Political Party webpage.
Florida has a very broad public records law. Almost all voter registration information is a public record including a voter’s name, address, date of birth, party affiliation, phone number and email address. However, a voter’s social security number, driver’s license number or state identification card number, and the source of a voter registration application cannot be released or disclosed to the public. A voter’s signature can be viewed, but not copied.
If you or a family member belong to certain high-risk professions or have been the victim of certain crimes, you may have the option to request that your information be exempt from public records requests. For more information, please see the Public Records Exemption form.
Return to Home