

Voter Registration Drive Information

One of the easiest ways to get involved in elections is to help people register to vote. Registering voters is an exciting public service and a great way to support your local community by making their voices heard through elections.

Register as a 3PVRO

Before you get started helping register voters, you will first need to register as a "third-party voter registration organization (3PVRO)." Your organization can be one person or a large group. It's easy to register – Scan the QR code to the right to visit the Florida Division of Elections 3PVRO resource page to get the forms and sign up. Or, work with an established 3PVRO. You can find contact information for active 3PVROs in a database on that webpage.



Florida 3PVRO Resource Page

You will also find a 3PVRO overview and reference guide. These documents will walk you through the process of creating your organization and helping people register to vote.

You do not need to sign up as a 3PVRO if you are just helping your spouse, child, or parent to register, if the voter submits their application directly through www.RegisterToVoteFlorida.gov, or if you are only handing out blank voter registration forms. However, if you are collecting completed forms you need to sign up or work with another 3PVRO before you get started.

Key things to share with voter registration applicants

Florida has a statewide voter registration system.

- Florida's voter registration deadline is 29 days before an election. This deadline applies to new registrations and political party affiliation changes.
- Address changes in Florida can be made within the 29-day deadline, including on election day.
- Once you are registered in Florida, your registration moves with you. Make sure you update your address whenever you move.



Florida is a closed primary state.

- Since Florida is a "closed primary" election state, the races and candidates that appear on your primary election ballot depend on your party affiliation.
- There are often nonpartisan contests in a primary election. Voters who are registered with no party affiliation may vote in these contests when they appear on the ballot.
- In a general election, you can vote for any candidates on your ballot, regardless of party affiliation.

Review the form with the applicant

Voters must submit a <u>complete</u> application to be successfully registered. If a voter's application is <u>incomplete</u>, they will not be eligible to vote until they submit a new application correcting any mistakes. You should review the required fields with the applicant. This gives them an opportunity to complete any missed or illegible information.

Common oversights result in incomplete applications. Examples include (but are not limited to):

- Missing <u>any</u> required fields, including checkboxes, on lines 1 through 7 and 12.
- Failing to <u>sign</u> the application (line 12).
- Missing or illegible first and/or last name (line 6). This results in an unverified registration status which creates additional identification requirements and steps for the voter at the polling place. This can result in disenfranchisement for voters who wish to cast a ballot by mail.
- Listing an out-of-state address, PO box, or otherwise incomplete residential address (line 7).
- If the applicant makes a mistake on the form, it's fine for the applicant to cross out the incorrect information and then write in the correct info. This is better than filling out a second form.

Address for Voters Living in College Campus Residence Halls

College students living in campus residence halls can provide the residence hall name in the address field on line 7. Then, they should write their U-box or other mailing address on line 8 so they can receive important election mail, such as their new voter information card or Vote-by-Mail ballot.



State Mandated Notification

A 3PVRO must:

- Notify the applicant at the time the application is collected that the organization
 might not deliver the application to the Florida Division of Elections or the
 Supervisor of Elections in the county in which the voter resides in less than 14
 days or before registration closes for the next election.
- Advise the applicant that he or she may deliver the application in person or by mail.
- Inform the applicant how to register online with the Florida Division of Elections and how to determine whether the application has been delivered.

Delivery of Voter Registration Applications

A 3PVRO must:

- Deliver all voter registration applications within 14 days after the form is completed. If the voter registration deadline is approaching, you must deliver the applications before the deadline.
- Deliver the forms to the county Supervisor of Elections Office where the applicant resides. Or you can deliver all forms to the Division of Elections, regardless of residential address. Failure to do so will incur fines. See the last section below for more information.

When you deliver forms, make sure that each form has your 3PVRO number and the collection date written in the margins on the lower portion of the form. Do not write over any fields that contain voter information or in the "Official Use Only Box". You can deliver forms in-person or by mail.

What Happens After I Drop Off Voter Registration Applications?

We verify the ID information and enter the data into the Florida Voter Registration System. Our office will mail a new voter information card within a week or two after processing the application. If the voter does not receive their card, they should call our office to make sure we have the correct address.

If an application is incomplete, our office will mail the voter a letter with instructions for completing a new application.



Training and Resources

You can request a 3PVRO workshop using our Community Involvement Request form on www.LeonVotes.gov or by contacting our office at (850) 606-8683. Our staff will work with you to finalize a date and time. At the workshop, our staff will provide you with training and best practices on how to help people register to vote.

Vote-by-Mail Ballot Request Forms

In order to complete a Vote-by-Mail ballot request, a person must already be a registered voter. If you are helping someone to register for the first time in Florida, they should not complete a Vote-by-Mail ballot request at the same time. Instead, they can request their Vote-by-Mail ballot once they receive their voter information card.

Deliver Vote-by-Mail ballot request forms directly to the Supervisor of Elections Office in the county where the voter resides. Delivering a Vote-by-Mail ballot request form to our office for another county may result in delayed delivery and processing by the proper Supervisor of Elections.

Contact Information

Leon County Supervisor of Elections



- Phone (850) 606-8683
- Email Vote@LeonVotes.gov
- Web LeonVotes.gov

....

Spanish language resources are available upon request.

Division of Elections 3PVRO Coordinator

- **Phone** (850) 245-6237
- Fax (850 245-6291
- Email <u>3PVRO@dos.myflorida.com</u>



Resources

- Section <u>97.0575</u>, Florida Statutes, and as subsequently amended by <u>section 7</u> <u>chapter 2021-11</u>, Laws of Florida.
- Rule 1S-2.042, Florida Administrative Code (to the extent rule does not conflict with state law).
- 3PVRO Resource page https://dos.myflorida.com/elections/for-voters/voter-registration-organizations/
- Section 7 Chapter 2021-11 Laws of Florida http://laws.flrules.org/2021/11
- Florida Administrative Code Rule https://www.flrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?title=ELECTIONS&ID=1S-2.042

Notice Regarding Fines

When you collect a voter registration application, your 3PVRO serves as a "fiduciary" for the voter. This means you accept responsibility to make sure that the form is delivered on time. If you deliver the form late or not at all, you may be fined.

Violation	Fine per application	Willful act per application
Untimely return more than 14 days after date the application was signed or collected or the registration deadline, whichever is sooner	\$50	\$250
Untimely return after the registration deadline for most recent state or local election	\$100	\$500
Failure to return	\$500	\$1,000

The aggregate fine which may be assessed against a third-party voter registration organization, including affiliate organizations, for violations committed in a calendar year is \$1,000.